ShipSpotting.com
Login: Lost Password? SIGN UP
Ship Photo Search
Advanced Search
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 9
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there a site problem?  (Read 6936 times)
1 Member and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
davidships
Webmaster
Top Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,794



View Profile
« Reply #30 on: June 08, 2018, 04:05:28 pm »

Don't worry about adding details of continuing experiences to this forum as they may well help Henrik resolve the issue (he sees them direct here).  If you can add technical details, as some have been able to do, that is particularly helpful.

As Phil says, our direct role is ensuring that Henrik is aware of the extent of the problem(s).

David
Report to moderator   Logged
pieter melissen
Photo Corrections
Home away from home
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 236


View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: June 08, 2018, 04:42:29 pm »

just another experience:

When opening SS in the normal way I get a pop up about the Javascript, and whatever I do, the next thing will be another pop-up where I can download a file to update my Java. I can annul this but then I come back to the original pop-up and therefore I cannot open the site any more.

However, I just received a PM and that I could open without the any pop-up appearing. Through the buttons on the top of the PM message I could into SS in the normal way. So it is obviously through your existing short-cut that the problems arise.
Report to moderator   Logged
Pieter Inpyn
Photo Corrections
Top Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,876


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: June 08, 2018, 04:49:24 pm »

I had this morning from SS the error message that Java Plug-in 8.-something was missing. Did an update on Java and problem disappeared right away.
Report to moderator   Logged

.........
newda898
Just popping in

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: June 08, 2018, 07:02:53 pm »

Suspicious looking script at the bottom of the page, as per attachment.

It's trying to load a script from the following site https : // afrodizinlife . gq
Report to moderator   Logged
jdap
Just can't stay away
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 92


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: June 08, 2018, 07:03:36 pm »

Quote
Did an update on Java and problem disappeared right away.

...and hopefully you did not import a virus...

Have you run a virus scan afterwards? If affirm, what does the report say?
Report to moderator   Logged
Jim McQuarrie
Not too shy to talk
*
Online Online

Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #35 on: June 08, 2018, 07:52:57 pm »

I just go back then forward again OK!!!
Report to moderator   Logged
pieter melissen
Photo Corrections
Home away from home
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 236


View Profile WWW
« Reply #36 on: June 08, 2018, 08:18:25 pm »

Is there an option that Henrik will immediately tell us that the site IS using this Java Script and updating to a new one IS required? That will take away a lot questions.
Report to moderator   Logged
brian e cole
Supporter
Just popping in

Offline Offline

Posts: 14


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: June 09, 2018, 05:33:45 am »

Hi! Guys, After posting note yesterday next day the JAVA problem turned up. But I can access the site through Bing. It gives a message 'Do you want to browse this site' works Ok.
Report to moderator   Logged
john white
Top Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3,126


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: June 09, 2018, 07:27:58 am »

I am getting it pop up on home page useing firefox
Report to moderator   Logged
Michael Wirth
Just popping in

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #39 on: June 09, 2018, 09:00:07 am »

This behaviour of the site is highly suspicious as well as the source (something.ru) of the .exe file you should download and install.

I am working in IT security for 20+ years and can only strongly recommend NOT TO FOLLOW these instructions and DO NOT DOWNLOAD AND INSTALL ANYTHING!

When using Firefox, check your plugins on the Add-ons-Page and if necessary, update them there.

I got the message and the download-popup also and when I enabled the Java-Plugin which is disabled by default, the message dissappeared.


But I have to say, once a site showed such a behaviour, I don't trust it anymore and only use it with extreme caution (in this case: linux live CD for example).

I also can't understand why there is no clarifying word on this subject to this day by any technician responsible.


Best regards,

Michael.
Report to moderator   Logged
Henrik Soderberg
Administrator
Quite a regular
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 63


View Profile
« Reply #40 on: June 09, 2018, 11:57:51 pm »

Hi all,

Sorry for a late reply. I've spent all time I've had on trying to find the source of this problem.

A few suspected parts have been fixed, and I would appreciate it if the ones still having problems can let me know if there still is a problem, and if there is - please let us know what the problem is, a screenshot if there is text or anything graphic visible, and also the country you are in.

I have not had any problems with the site myself at any time with any browser. It makes it tricky to reproduce the problems. With Netflix and other services with a lot of resources and lots to protect in different regions, it is nowadays harder to fake the country to find geographical differences. That's where your feedback really helps out. I've had a few members email me just enough info to keep me busy working on finding the source, and done what I can until now.

Thanks all for helping, and feel free to send emails or post in this thread if you have any further info on the problems from now on.

To all of you that were/are affected - Thank you for your patience!

Regards,
Henrik



Report to moderator   Logged
Keith Goldie
Not too shy to talk
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: June 10, 2018, 12:37:05 am »

After deleting the bookmark from this site and opening again I have no probs..
Using Chrome...will see if it stays fixed..
Report to moderator   Logged
Pilot Frans
Top Poster
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 15,400


View Profile WWW
« Reply #42 on: June 10, 2018, 11:01:42 am »

Hello Hendrik,

Sofar the message doesn't pump up anymore (the Netherlands with google crome).
Many thanks Hendrik for all the work you put in

Frans
Report to moderator   Logged

Michael Wirth
Just popping in

Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #43 on: June 10, 2018, 12:06:34 pm »

Hello Hendrik,

here in Germany (Win7, Firefox) the message also doesn't show up anymore.

It only showed up on my Windows computers, not on those running Linux.

I saw it several times yesterday, with different names of the .exe file and different sources (shipspotting.com and [something].ru). I forgot to take a screenshot ...

Thanks for your post and your work!


Best regards,

Michael.
Report to moderator   Logged
andrecas
Quite a regular
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


View Profile
« Reply #44 on: June 11, 2018, 12:44:44 am »

Hendrik,
Many thanks for your efforts in trying to resolve this security issue.

This coming from Eastern Canada (Saint John)
My PC running windows 10 / Microsoft edge

Tried accessing site this evening and I’m still getting malwarebytes pop up screen now reading WEBSITE BLOCKED DUE TO RISKWARE. Then it goes on to describe riskware with option to “continue to this site anyway”. In the malwarebytes pop up screen it contains following information.
DOMAIN: www.shipspotting.com
IP ADDRESS: 185.32.10.34
PORT: 50189
TYPE: outbound
FILE: c:\windows\systems\apps\microsoft.microsoft\edge_8wekyb3d8bbwe\microsoftedgeCP.exe

Questions comes to mind ......
(1) if I ignore pop up screen and continue to site, am I vulnerable to loopholes in system that can be exploited by hackers, putting my entire PC network at risk...?
(2) would deleting site and reinstalling on PC home screen help fix my situation?

Brgds....
andre


Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 9
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Page created in 0.048 seconds with 18 queries.
Copyright © 2010 All rights reserved